Links

 

Links to Organisations, Exhibitions, Resources and artists' websites. If there are any websites that you know of that might be useful to link to please email us. See also the Moving Image Works Online section for artists' works on the web.
Organisations, Exhibitions, Resources and Projects
The International Centre for Fine Art Research http://www.icfar.co.uk/
The Study Collection is a research project of the newly formed Centre at the University of the Arts.
Luxonline
http://www.luxonline.org.uk/
Luxonline is a free comprehensive on-line resource for people wishing to learn about and explore British artists' film and video.

Lux

http://www.lux.org.uk
Information about current Lux projects and events, includes an enormous number of links to a wide range of resourses, organisations and artists' websites.

CRAMI (Curatorial Resource for Artists' Moving Image) http://crami.lux.org.uk
A new website from LUX which aims to give a user-friendly and interpretive advice to curators, programme's and those interested in showing artists' work in a variety of contexts.
Future Histories of the Moving Image Research Network
http://www.futurehistories.net
The Future Histories of the Moving Image Research Network has been set up to address the issues of sustainability and historiography arising from the growing number of moving image arts database and digitised collection projects in the UK.
Rewind http://www.rewind.ac.uk/
A research resource concentrating on artists’ video in the 1970’s & 1980’s in the UK. Based at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design, University of Dundee with Prof Stephen Partridge as Principal Investigator.
Arts on Film Archive http://artsonfilm.wmin.ac.uk
Arts on Film Archive offers on-line access to a large range of films on art produced in the United Kingdom since the 1950s, and is a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK.
FACT (Foundation for Art and Creative Technologies) http://www.fact.co.uk
Liverpool based organisation for the development, support and exhibition of film, video and new and emerging media.
Picture This http://www.picture-this.org.uk
Picture This work with artists to produce and present new moving image projects with contemporary artists presented at their space in Bristol, across the UK and internationally, and through DVDs, online and printed publications.
Analogue: Pioneering Video from the UK, Canada and Poland (1968-88)

http://www.uclan.ac.uk/host/edau/projects/analogtext.htm
The Analogue research project is developing a major exhibition and related events centring on the first twenty years of video art in the UK.

Secret Cinema http://www.secretcinema.co.uk
The mailing list is now available online as a blog. The website includes further information on events, images, and the potential for people to submit reviews and comments about the screenings they attend, or to email
details to their friends.
no.w.here http://www.nowhere-lab.org
A centre for artist film production in London run by the artist filmmakers Karen Mirza and Brad Butler.

British Film Institute

http://www.bfi.org.uk

Animate Projects http://www.animateprojects.org
Animate Projects commissions artists to make work that explores the relationship between contemporary art and animation, for broadcast, gallery, cinema and online exhibition.

Video Art: The Early Years

http://ukvideoart.tripod.com/
A chronology of the first two decades of British video art.

Research at the University of the Arts London
http://www.arts.ac.uk/research/

A Century of Artists' Film in Britain at Tate Britain

http://www.tate.org.uk/britain/artistsfilm
Curated by David Curtis, exhibited from May 2003 to April 2004, this ambitious display of 170 works by 130 artists revealed the full range, variety and originality of artists' film and video in Britain.

Shoot Shoot Shoot
http://www.lfmc.org
The major retrospective of the first ten years of London Filmmakers' Co-op. With artist information, a Co-op chronology and an essential essay by A. L. Rees.

Artists
If you are a British artist with a website, or if you know of one not linked here let us know.

Mineo Aayamaguchi
Steven Ball

Julia Bardsley

Simon Biggs
Simon Biggs: Babel
Simon Biggs: The Great Wall of China
Sebastian Buerkner http://www.sebastianbuerkner.com
Paul Bush
John Butler http://www.bcreatures.com/
Adam Chodzko http://www.adamchodzko.com/
Susan Collins
Lei Cox
David Critchley
David Cunningham
David Cunningham: Piano
Gina Czarnecki
Rachel Davies
Mark Dean http:// www.tailbiter.com
Roland Denning
Terry Flaxton
Claire Fowler http://www.clairefowler.com
Dryden Goodwin
Akiko Hada
David Hall
Ron Haselden http://www.ronhaselden.com/
Steve Hawley
Frances Hegarty & Andrew Stones (individual)
Frances Hegarty & Andrew Stones (collaborations)
Ian Helliwell http://www.ianhelliwell.co.uk
Susan Hiller http://www.susanhiller.org
John 'Hoppy' Hopkins http://www.hoppy.be
Matt Hulse
Riccardo Iacono
Fil Ieropoulos http://www.fil-i.co.uk
Esther Johnson http://www.blanchepictures.com
Isaac Julien http://www.isaacjulien.com
David Larcher
Rick Lander (Duvet Brothers) http://www.magic-tree.com
Mike Leggett
Malcolm Le Grice
Thomas Lisle http://www.lisleart.com/index2.php?id=t
Tim Macmillan
Ken MacMullen http://www.geocities.com/kenmcm_2000
Anthony McCall http://anthonymccall.com
Chris Meigh-Andrews
Roz Mortimer http://www.wonder-dog.co.uk
Matthew Noel-Tod http://www.matthewnoel-tod.com
Jenny Okun
Kayla Parker
Miranda Pennell http://www.mirandapennell.com/
Stephen Partridge
People Like Us/Vicki Bennett http://www.peoplelikeus.org
Stuart Pound
Laure Prouvost http://www.laureprouvost.com
Simon Pummell
Emily Richardson http://www.emilyrichardson.org.uk/
Marty St James
Philip Sanderson http://www.psouper.co.uk
Carolee Schneemann
James Scott http://www.james-scott.com
Semiconductor http://www.semiconductorfilms.com
Martin Sercombe
Jeffrey Shaw
Katy Shepherd http://www.katyshepherd.co.uk/default.htm
Vicky Smith
Elsa Stansfield and Madelon Hooykaas
Stefan & Franciszka Themerson http://www.themersonarchive.com/
Thomson and Craighead
Tanya Ury http://www.tanyaury.com/
Chris Welsby
Jez Welsh http://www.bek.no/~jeremy
Richard Wright